In a Word: Customized

Photo courtesy of @colton_jyz on Instagram.

I purchased a Subaru Impreza last year. A friend of mine has had the same make (a year older) for a little bit of time. Now look at his ride (photographed to the right) and look at a photo of mine (below). Not exactly mine but that is the car I purchased.

As seen on Subaru’s website and my driveway.

Same car, no? I’m sure the argument can be easily made that they are. Yet, they aren’t. There’s a whole lot of customization on/in Colton’s care that are brazenly lacking in/on mine. I look at the customized version of my same care and wonder about…life.

You see a fly, customized car. Maybe it’s a high-end performance car. Maybe it’s an older sedan. Either way, there’s something stirring about a car that has been made personal. I have to imagine anyone making such alterations to their car, which was probably fine the way it was, is getting exactly what they want. Making precisely the version of the car upon which their heart has been set.

Some of us pick up the factory model right off the lot and that’s what we drive around. Purely for functional. That’s ok. It gets from one point to another and sometimes even the most basic iteration still looks pretty snappy.

Still, I can’t help but feel a longing when I see a customized vehicle and what it must feel like for the operator; the sense of pride and purpose driving around a car (truck, motorcycle) of one’s own imagining.

That’s the thing about those customized cars, someone went out and made some intentional choices. They didn’t just accept or go with what was sitting there. I admire the people who carve out, create a purposeful life.

Photo dug up on Pinterest that doesn’t link to any site. It’s a purdy color though.

So much intention. Whether it’s a a simple as picking out an uncommon color, matching the interior, or tinting the windows, there’s plenty of ways to metaphorically customize your life.

I’ve started the process of shaping my own life into something more customized. I’ve caught on late, but I have caught on. The factory standards aren’t fulfilling anymore and I see the potential my base-model has for some sweet upgrades and adjustments. A writing career over a retail job. A more secure financial position over paycheck-to-paycheck. Working past the emotional eating for a healthier body. Some changes are simple others are more involved.

I’m fine rolling through my 40s in a customized life. Until I’m dead, there will always be room and time to improve and cruise.

2 thoughts on “In a Word: Customized

  1. Love this, love you! I feel the same way, ironically about my car. A car says a lot about you. A customized car indeed has a lot of intention and purpose. I yearn for a luxury car, something with leather, moon roof, and amenities. Am I ready for one? Absolutely not! I wish I was. My Toyota Corolla shows exactly where I am in life. It’s nice, pretty, functional, but roughly inexpensive. I live in a city with a high crime rate and should it get vandalized or stolen, is it a huge financial loss? No, not really. Especially with GAP insurance. I have a lot of other debts and a few years to go in my career before I can afford the finer things in life. Like a house with a garage to protect that luxury car I want some day. All with time my friend, you too will have what you’ve been working so hard for.

    Like

    1. Love yoooou back! Thanks for the comment. I like what you said about being ready for the car you want. Haha…too true about your city. You need a garage, some cameras, alarms, and top-notch insurance. You’re going to have it all some day!

      Like

Leave a comment